Miss Keepers of the Crown

Linda Hall 1976Linda (Hall) Daschle - Miss Kansas 1976

Hon. Linda (Hall) Daschle - Miss Kansas 1976

In her 40-year career, Linda Hall Daschle rose to become the second woman ever to be deputy administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration and the first woman to serve as FAA acting administrator. Her trailblazing achievements were recognized when she was presented the 2003 Amelia Earhart Pioneering Achievement Award, and an aviation scholarship at South Dakota State University has been created in her name.

She has been consistently been ranked as one of the nation's most effective lobbyists by several respected Washington publications, such as the National Journal, Washingtonian and The Hill.

Ms. Daschle's in-depth knowledge of the intricacies of aviation has drawn some of the nation's largest airlines, airports and aviation manufacturers to rely on her as their representative in the nation's capital. She counts among her clients American Airlines, the American Association of Airport Executives, Cleveland Hopkins International Airport, Lockheed Martin and L3 Communications.

In 2009, she formed her own public policy consulting practice – LHD & Associates, Inc. and expanded her practice areas to include homeland security, communications and surface transportation. Ms. Daschle devotes considerable time to non-profit entities assisting women in need and has been honoured for her charitable work by N Street Village, Green Door and NOFAS.

Professional Honors & Activities

Chair of Federal Public Policy – Baker Donelson (1997-2008)

Acting Administrator/Deputy Administrator – Federal Aviation Administration (1993-1997)

Senior Vice President – American Association of Airport Executives (1987-1993)

Director of Federal Affairs – Air Transport Association of America (1985-1987)

Director/Regional Director – Civil Aeronautics Board (1980-1984)

Director of Marketing – Mississippi Valley Airline (1980)

Director of Marketing – Royal-Air Limited (1978-1980)

Recipient – 2003 Amelia Earhart Pioneering Achievement Award

Kansas Hall of Aviation Fame Award

Professional Women Controllers Honorary Lifetime Member Award

Civil Aeronautics Board Special Achievement Award

American Association of Airport Executives Award of Appreciation

American Association of Airport Executives President's Award

Ranked in the top ten in Washingtonian magazine's list of the 50 top lobbyists in Washington, D.C. (2007)

Named by the Washingtonian as one of the 100 most powerful women in Washington

Named annually by The Hill as a top federal public policy lobbyists (2004-2015)

Associate Member – South Dakota State University Sigma Delta Sigma Chapter of Alpha Eta Rho

Member of the Board – Aireon, LLC.

Member of the Board – National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome

Member of the Advisory Board – N Street Village

Former Member of Ford’s Theatre Trustees Board

Member – Aero Club of Washington


Kansas State University



  • 0001
  • 0002
  • 0003
  • 0004
  • 0005
  • 0006


Miss Kansas
June 11, 2022
Dennis Lesh Sports Arena

Pratt Community College in Pratt, KS

Miss Kansas' Outstanding Teen
March 25-27, 2022
Liberty Middle School in Pratt, KS